Legendary Jaguar designer Ian Callum will pull up stumps as the Director of Design for the company after two decades in the role.
Since joining the Jaguar team in 1999, Callum has been responsible for the design of numerous vehicles. In his role, he established a world-class creative design team, developed a new design philosophy and revived the range, delivering award-winning designs.
Most notable among his repertoire are the F-Type, XE, XF and XJ. Callum was also the man behind the award-winning F-Pace and E-Pace as well as the latest World Car of the Year, World Car Design of the Year and World Green Car, the all-electric I-Pace.
Ian Callum said: “I have had an incredible career at Jaguar. One of my biggest highlights was creating XF because it represented the beginning of a new era moving Jaguar from tradition to contemporary design – it was a significant turning point in our story. 
“Designing the F-Type was a dream come true for me, and I-Pace was an opportunity to create something hugely innovative that would really challenge the perception of Jaguar – and its success is testament to just how far the brand has come.
“I came into this role with a mission to take Jaguar design back to where it deserved to be. It has taken 20 years, but I believe I have achieved what I set out to do. Given the strength of both our products and the design team I feel that now is the right time to move on, both personally and professionally, and explore other design projects,” Mr Callum added.
Over his career, Callum has also spent time creating and designing at Ford Design Studios as well as becoming the Chief Designer of TWR Design where the Aston Martin DB7, Vanquish and DB9 were moulded by his influence.
Callum was also awarded the title of Royal Designer for Industry from the RSA in 2005, and the Minerva Medal in 2014 which is the highest accolade bestowed by the Chartered Society of Designers to acknowledge a lifetime’s achievement in design.
Jaguar’s Creative Design Director, Julian Thomson will take over from Callum on July 1.
More: All News